Couscous small steamed granules of rolled durum wheat semolina that is often served with a stew.
Couscous can be used as a side dish, as part of a salad, added to a soup. Because of its mild flavour, it is the ideal base for a wide range dishes.
Despite its rice-like appearance, couscous is made from semolina, which is a granule of durum wheat. Therefore, it is not gluten-free. Couscous is commonly mistaken for being gluten-free.